Board of Education

There are nine members on the State Board of Education. Governor Kay Ivey serves as president of the Board by virtue of her position as governor. Dr. Cynthia McCarty serves as vice president, and Jeffrey Newman serves as President Pro Tem. The State Superintendent serves as Secretary and Executive Officer by virtue of the position. The Board holds meetings in the auditorium of the Gordon Persons Building in Montgomery, Alabama, on the second Thursday of each month. Work sessions are held in Plaza 104 of the Gordon Persons Building following the meeting on the same day.

Board Members





Contact Us